I Live in 798 Now

Just kidding.  I only wish I did.  I’m there so often that I might as well say I do…

(This post is going to be mainly pictures because I already talked about 798 a bit over here.)

DSC_0211This is a picture of my friend’s mom vandalizing a wall in 798, as we all did all over the place.

DSC_0203It’s encouraged there, it’s not like we were being jerks.  The picture above is of our Chinese names.  The pictures on this post were taken across different days, though, as I went back once with Jessica, once by myself, and once with Jessica, Neil, and Jess’ mom.

DSC_0142A collaborative art project between the three of us.  When I had gone to 798 in the beginning of the school year, back in September, I barely scratched the surface of the area, so we’ve been going back to uncover more and more of it recently.

DSC_0175

DSC_0129For example, the disused railroad surrounded by relics of the old industrial park.

DSC_0180If you cross the tracks you end up in the D-Park, which doesn’t have many galleries or shops or cafés (actually it’s dominated by corporations like car companies, which is disappointing on a variety of levels), but it does have a lot of old bits of the factories and an elevated walkway across the whole eastern side of 798.

DSC_0192DSC_0224DSC_0225You can climb on all kinds of things from the paths leading off of the walkway.

DSC_0217You’re probably not supposed to climb on some of them, but if it’s not expressly forbidden…

DSC_0231There’s some good architecture to be seen from up there as well, like the Audi R&D center.

DSC_0238Audis are probably the biggest foreign cars in China; they are to this country what Toyota is to America.  Also, Audis are the official cars of the Chinese government.  I suppose Chinese cars aren’t quite good enough and the only alternative would be Japanese cars, which would be… awkward.  To say the least.

DSC_0255We came across this thing, where people were setting up some lighting rigs and putting together a stage inside, so either there was a concert or another show of some kind.  We weren’t entirely sure what this was, but it’s definitely worth looking into because a concert inside of a water tank would be so awesome.

DSC_0090 DSC_0161 DSC_0258

DSC_0345 DSC_0159 DSC_0130We were also part of an interactive art piece.

DSC_0286The idea is to stand in the metal figures and then you email the pictures to the artist, who will put them all together in one exhibit sometime next year.

DSC_0281And of course, the graffiti was spectacular, as always.

DSC_0353Above, a legacy of the Sino-German cooperation that founded 798 in the first place.

DSC_0376I made this the background of my desktop, which the TA for one my classes thought was cute.

DSC_0315Also a Mondrian wall!

DSC_0355Mondrian is 100% my jam.

DSC_0330

DSC_0167

DSC_0322 DSC_0359 DSC_0365We actually went into some galleries as well, which had more interactive art.

DSC_0314 DSC_0304 DSC_0311There was also some good food.

DSC_0140And by food I mean candy.  Above, people make caramel sculptures/beads with little pictures on them.

DSC_0149And a dark chocolate matcha truffle.

Coming up sometime tomorrow, more substantial things, like what I do when I’m not doing “picture-worthy” things.

DSC_0318Also, here’s one of your stereotypically cute children:

DSC_0110

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment